A glance through IFFI 2017

The international film festival that took place from the 19th to the 28th of November 2017 has finally wrapped up in Goa. The theme for 2017 was ‘Connecting the World through Stories’. There were a couple of prestigious awards that were given out. The Silver Peacock, the Golden Peacock, Lifetime achievement award and Indian personality of the year award were some of the awards mentioned.

Some of the highlights of IFFI 2017

  • Atom Egoyan receives the Lifetime Achievement Award
  • “120 BEATS PER MINUTE” bags Best Movie award at IFFI 2017, receives
  • Golden Peacock Trophy
  • Amitabh Bachchan receives Indian Film Personality of the Year award
  • Marathi Film ‘Kshitij- A Horizon’ gets the ICFT-UNESCO Gandhi Medal

The Indian personality of the year award were given out by Smt Smriti Irani, Minister of Textiles and Information and  Broadcasting and Shri. Akshay Kumar, famous Bollywood personality. While the Lifetime achievement award was given out to Canadian filmmaker Atom Egoyan.

The French movie ‘120 Beats per minute’ which was directed by Robin Campillo won an award for being the Best Film at IFFI this year. The award comprised of a trophy shaped like a Golden Peacock, certificates and a cash prize. The cash was shared between the Director and Producer.

Nahuel Pérez Biscayart was also awarded the best actor award for his role in the film. He received a Silver peacock trophy.

‘120 beat per minute’ tells the story of a bunch of activists who decided to take on the Government agencies and other pharmaceutical companies in the 1990s. They were fighting for the rights of HIV/AIDS patients.

The Silver Peacock trophy, along with a cash prize was given to Director Vivian Qu for the amazing direction that he added to the film ‘Angels Wear White’. Parvathy Thiruvothu Kottuvata received the best actress award for the film ‘Take Off’ in Malayalam. Kiro Russo received the award for Best Debut Feature Film of a Director’ for his work on the Spanish ‘Dark Skull’. The Indian Film personality of the year 2017 award, was given to Shri Amitabh Bachchan for his contribution to Indian cinema. His career spanned more than 5 decades during which time he received a surfeit of national and international honors.

The Gandhi Medal was awarded to ‘A Horizon’, directed by Manouj Kadaamh. The award is given to a film that portrays the Gandhian values of peace and harmony. The story follows the 12-year-old, Vacci, who overcomes various obstacles to work toward her education.

There were many other awards that were given out at the event. This was done alongside a lot of spectacular performances. The closing ceremony of IFFI 2017 was anchored by Karan Johar, Sonali Bendre, and Zaira Wasim. Indian film personalities such as Salman Khan, Akshay Kumar, Katrina Kaif, Bhumi Pednekar, Sushant Singh Rajput, Sidharth Malhotra and Huma Qureshi graced the closing ceremony with their presence. There was a lot of singing and dancing while going through performances by singer and composer Papon.