The Vans New Wave Musicfest

Goa’s gig season has got an exciting new entrant this year. The first edition of the Vans New Wave Musicfest is all set to be held at the Go Karting Arena at Verna on November 15th and 16th.

Featuring an eclectic lineup comprising a mix of popular and obscure acts, the festival is bringing together, for the first time in the country, as many as 66 live bands from all over Asia to perform under one roof. Spread across three stages, audiences have the choice to devour a range of genres including acoustic rock, punk, indie, electric pop, funk, alternative and hip hop.

The People Behind It

Indie music is a genre which has created a cult of its own in India today. It was the mutual desire to elevate the indie scenario to the next level, that inspired Ennui dot Bomb led by Rishu Singh and Anoop Sebastian, The Live Music Project curated by Darryl Noronha and Vinesh Iyer, and led by Himanshu to join hands and organise this festival.

“Bands from all over India and other parts of Asia are sharing a common platform with a united objective to provide the fans a complete audio visual experience,” says Anoop, the festival head.

The Acts

Vans Main Stage

Day 1: A Mutual Question, Spud in the Box, Hoirong, Laxmi Bomb, The U93, The Circus, Point of View, Live Banned, The F16s, Peter Cat Recording Co. and Sky Rabbit

Day 2: Pinnochio’s Moment of Clarity, Run! It’s the Kid, Kanchan Daniel and the Beards, The Vinyl Records, Little Fox, Elvis Lobo Project, The Ganesh Talkies, Success, The Supersonics, Bombay Basement and Shonen Knife.

Stupidities Stage

Day 1: I am Bliss, Punk on Toast, The Dirty Strikes, Street Stories, Frisky Pints, Tripwire, The Squirt Guns, The Rebel Riot Band, Skrat, Youth Unite, and Grammy Winning Effort.

Day 2: Noxious Ire, Kristian Bent, Electric Pulse, As We Keep Searching, Neel and the Light Bulbs, Space Behind the Yellow Room, Shayne Ballantyne Collective, Koniac Net, Neeraj Arya’s Kabir Café, Tritha Electric and Kyoto Protocol.

Pepsi MTV Indies Stage

Day 1: Krishna Marathe, Castles in the Sky, Curtain Blue, Disco Puppet, Klypp, Sulk Station, Smooth, Relax, Krazy Electrons, Madboy/Mink, Big City Harmonics and Fuzzculture.

Day 2: Jynx, TejasMenon, Joanne Fernandes, Voctronica, Begum, Lifafa, Oh, Rocket, Fuzzy Logic, Frame/Frame, Vice Versa and Your Chin.

For tickets and details, contact: